Quick Links

St Nicolas'

Church of England Combined School

Google Services

Google Translate

Google Translate

Google Search

Google Search



St Nicolas’ Church of England Combined School Taplow


The following applies to all policies:

Together with God and through our Christian Values we support the spiritual and moral development of all pupils as we learn and grow together in an engaging, happy and safe environment. Through these values and the relationships nurtured within our school community, we work to encourage all to flourish as unique individuals in every aspect of their life and to ready themselves for the successes and challenges that their futures hold.


Description of School:

The History of the School

In 1848 the Rector of the Parish of Taplow, Reverend Edward Neale, gave 32 perches of land for the building of a school for the education of the children and adults of the parish. To do this he needed the permission of the Bishop of Oxford and the Lord High Chancellor of Great Britain. Thus, Taplow School was born.

Following the 1944 Education Act - which demanded greater facilities for state schools - the decision was made by the Oxford Diocese and members of St. Nicolas’ Church to rebuild the school.  Bishop Hay, who had been Rector of the Parish from 1939 to 1953, laid the foundation stone on 6th June 1964. Children and staff moved in on 14th April 1965 and the school was officially opened on 9th October of the same year.

In appreciation of the support of, and long connection with the community of the local church, the school became known as St Nicolas’ Church of England (Voluntary Aided) Combined School rather than Taplow School.

The school has continued to develop and is committed to the successful education of its children within a class based, single year group entry environment. Children are aged from 4+ to 11 years of age.

In May 2012 the School became an Academy and the name changed to St Nicolas' CE Combined School Taplow.